News Release

August 17, 2017

Excellence in engineering rewarded at #CESAAonAwards 2017

The consulting engineering industry came together last night for another celebration of innovation, quality, outstanding workmanship and professionalism in the engineering industry.

The 2017 CESA Aon Engineering Excellence Awards proved to be better than ever, with over 47 submissions received.

The awards provide CESA with the opportunity to showcase the extent to which local built-environment professionals provide the best in engineering expertise.

Outstanding performance across a wide range of categories was celebrated. These include large and small, as well as local and international projects. It even acknowledges visionary clients as well as future leaders in our industry through the Young Engineer of the Year award.

The importance of young engineers, mentorship and transformation was put in focus at the awards. Speaking at this year’s award, CESA President Lynne Pretorius noted that, in addition to creating innovative infrastructure solutions for the people of South Africa and Africa, consulting engineers play an important part of the country’s transformation agenda.

The 2017 winners are:

Projects with a value in excess of R250 million

Winner: Aurecon, Mall of Africa
Commendation: AECOM, Witwatersrand Goldfields Acid Mine Drainage Project, Eastern Basin
Commendation: Royal HaskoningDHV, Provincial Main Road 577 & BRT Corridor C3

Projects with a value between R50 million and R250 million

Winner: Neil Lyners & Associates, L’Ormarins Hydro Power Project
Commendation: Aurecon, Stortemelk Hydropower Plant
Commendation: Bosch Projects, Special Maintenance of N2 Section 11 between Bramlin and Soutwerke

Projects with a value of less than R50 million

Winner: Fellows Consulting, Malapa Fossil Site Cover and Visitors’ Centre
Commendation: Bigen Africa, Water reclamation plant at the Bafokeng Rasimone Platinum Mine
Commendation: AECOM, Plankenbrug Main Outfall Sewer & Associated Works – Phase 1

Best International Project

Winner: Aurecon, Mizingani Sea Wall

Young Engineer of the Year

Winner: Jabulile Msiza, Jones & Wagener
Commendation: Catherine Blersch, Aurecon
Commendation: Dr Pieter Crous, SMEC

Business Excellence

Winner: Nyeleti Consulting
Commendation: Knight Piésold

Mentor of the Year

Winner: Corrie van der Wath, Matleng Energy Solutions

Mentoring company of the year

Winner: Bigen Africa

Young Company of the Year

Winner: Matleng Energy Solutions

Publisher of the Year

Winner Trade Publications: 3S Media
Winner Daily Newspapers: Independent Newspapers

CESA Branch of the Year

Winner: Port Elizabeth

Visionary client of the Year

Winner: Tongaat Hulett

Job Shadow & Poster Initiative

Winner: UWP Consulting

Congratulations to all the winners of the 2017 Aon Engineering Excellence Awards.

Aon welcomes relevant dialogue and commentary on our thought leadership materials posted to our website. However, we reserve the right to delete any content that is harmful, obscene, or spam before it is published to the site.

If you elect to comment or engage with our content via third-party social media websites, you authorize Aon to have access to certain social media profile information. Please click here to learn more about information that may be collected when using these tools on

All Comments(570)

Open for comments. Sign in or create your Aon South Africa account to join the discussion.
Tom Hatcher 7 Jun 2014 14:58 Comments Policy
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed luctus nulla ac sem viverra, quis adipiscing lectus elementum. Fusce semper bibendum pellentesque.
Sandy Smith 25 May 2014 11:44 Comments Policy
Lorem ipsum dolor et al.
John Smith 12 May 2014 17:09 Comments Policy
Lorem ipsum dolor et al. Lorem ipsum dolor et al. Lorem ipsum dolor et al.
Show all comments...
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

Quick Forms

Request Quote
Contact Me
Compliments & Complaints

Twitter Feed